30th Annual James A. Joseph Awards Ceremony

James A. Joseph Lecturer on Philanthropy

Kenneth Jones

Vice President and Chief Financial Officer, MacArthur Foundation

Ken is responsible for all aspects of the finance, accounting, tax, audit, information technology, administrative services and facilities functions for the Foundation. In addition, Ken implements and evaluates the Foundation’s financial objectives and performance to support MacArthur’s priorities and programs.

Prior to joining the MacArthur Foundation, Ken was the Vice President and Chief Financial Officer for the Annie E. Casey Foundation. In this role, he oversaw the Finance, Grants Management, Business Technology and Facilities & Operations functions as well as the disaster recovery & relief process for the Foundation. He traveled extensively in African and Southeast Asia as CFO for Danya International, a public health and education organization and Jhpiego, a nonprofit international health affiliate of Johns Hopkins University. Ken held previously corporate finance positions at Ford Motor Company, Pfizer Corporation and the Prudential.

Ken received his MBA from the MIT Sloan School of Management, a master’s degree in economics from the University at Buffalo and a bachelor’s degree from Boston University.

Ken serves on the boards of the Council of Foundations, ABFE, the Center for Disaster Philanthropy, the National Prevention Science Coalition, the Mission Investors Exchange, the Thurgood Marshall Academy, Think of Us, the Public Justice Center, the Southern Education Foundation, the Center for Urban Families, the Steve Fund and Lutheran World Relief. He is a Who’s Who Black Baltimore recipient, Arthur Vining Davis Fellow for the Aspen Ideas Festival, Presidential Scholar at Concordia College – New York, Smart CEO Magazine Executive Management Award recipient as well as a DCA Live Star CFO awardee. Ken was in the 2nd Cohort of the Council of Foundations’ Career Pathways Program.

Other Awardees

Institutional Award for Philanthropic Leadership

The Andrew W. Mellon Foundation

Awardee Bio

Emerging Leader in Philanthropy

Naa Hammond

Senior Program Officer, The Groundswell Fund

Awardee Bio

Trailblazer Award

Reggie Van Lee

Partner and Chief Transformation Officer, The Carlyle Group

Awardee Bio
Sign up